News of Interest to

Friends of the Department of Chemistry

University of South Florida

Volume 18, No 2

Spring 2020

Research University

Faculty Recognition

The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) Senior Member Advisory Committee ND Board of Directors informed (February 11) Dr. **Wayne Guida** (Professor) of his election to the rank of **NAI Senior Member.**



Dr. Guida

Dr Xiaopeng Li and his group on had their latest work published in *Nature Chemistry* (https://www.nature.com/articles/s41557-020-0454-z) detailing the synthesis and self-assembly of the largest recorded 2-dimensional supramolecular grid. It was

(https://www.usf.edu/news/2020/pushing-the-limits-of-2d-supramolecules.aspx).



Dr. Li

18th Castle Conference

The 18th Raymond N. Castle Student Research Conference was held on Saturday March 7th. The facilities of the ISA Building were used for meetings, lecture presentations. and Posters

Student involvement was impressive as indicated by

☐ 18 graduate talks in three sessions.

□ ~12 graduate student posters

□ ~35 undergraduate posters

.Food and beverages, provided by Tampa Bay Section, ACS, were served in ISA top floor in a center area surrounded by posters.

Professional involvement was indicated by about two dozen judges from some five institutions.

Castle 2020 committee was well organized and included: Guy Dayhoff (Committee Chair) Nicole Miller, Harsh Vardhan, Shun Teng, Ruixuan Gao, Minghui Wang, Mengjia Liu, Adam Hogan, and Chenhaun Wang.

Staff and Faculty supporters included:Mr. Ryan Jahn, Mr. Roberto Avergonzado, Ms. Kaitlyn Kroner; Ms. Paige Romero, Dr. Xiaodong (Mike) Shi.;Dr. Kimberly Fields.

Guest Speaker

Dr. Lila R. Gierasch is Distinguished Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology University of Massachusetts Amherst.

She serves as Editor-in-Chief, *Journal of Biological Chemistry*. The recipient of a number of awards, she is also a member of both the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences

Theresa Evans-Nguyen . Ph.D

William A. Glauser, Ph.D.

Dr. Yang

Masters

Mr. James Kingsepp (Dr. Scott Lewis)

Mr. Kingsepp

NB Spring Commencement

Owing to Corovid 19, spring commencements were cancelled

Donors to the Department

July 1 -December 31, 2019

Personal Donors

George Allen

William C. Brown, Jr., M.D.

Sherrisse K. Bryant

Jianfeng Cai, Ph.D.

Laurent Jean-Paul Calcul, Ph.D.

Harvey R. Chaplin

Henry Euler

Dean M. Graham Foundation

Elinor Beidler Siklossy Foundation

Frances Pew Hayes Family Foundation

Gerald A. and Karen A. Kolschowsky Foundation, Inc.

James R. and Mary M. Bellor Foundation

Leo and Anne Albert Charitable Trust

Louis C. & Celia K. Grossberg Foundation

Max Goldenberg Foundation

Steven and Beverly Rubenstein Charitable Foundation, Inc.

The Daniel Tanner Foundation

The Klehn Family Foundation

The Lewis Hertz Foundation

The Linda Sue Pfarrer Nortillo Charitable Foundation

Yolanda & Salvatore Gigante Charitable Foundation Trust

• • • • • • • • • • • • •

We are grateful to all donors for their support.

College of Arts and Sciences Info

Students pursuing a CAS degree: 19,668

Distinct undergraduate majors: 41

% of all undergraduate student Credit hours (Tampa): 53%

% F TIC retained to 2nd year: 91.6%

Graduation rate:

4yr: 70.3%; 6yr: 78.7%

USF Innovation Enterprise

Paul R. Sanberg, M.D., Ph.D., D.Sc., is Senior VP for Research, Innovation & Knowledge Enterprise. He is also President and Founder of the National Academy of Inventors.

Dr. Sanberg is also a highly cited author, one of 146 at USF who are among the top



Dr. Sanberg

1.5% of all cited scientists worldwide

Recently he announced the names and affiliations of the 2019 class of NAI Fellows.

worldwide, representing more than 250 [prestigious universities and government and non-profit research institutes. Collectively the Fellows hold more than 41 sued U.S.

Acknowledgments

Mr. **Guy Dayhoff**, NSF Fellow, provided helpful Castle Conference information



Mr. Guy Dayhof II

Dr. James Leahy for a news item

Ms. **Ann Serota**, CAS Development Specialist provided the donor list.

Mr. **Bruce Smith,** ,Facilities Manager (Sciences) for oak tree information.

Abbreviations

NIH: National Institutes of Health

Chair:



Dr. Leahy

Dr. James Leahy, Professor and Chair

Department of Chemistry
The Florida Center of Excellence for Drug
Discovery & Innovation
Department of Molecular Medicine
University of South Florida
3720 Spectrum Boulevard, Suite 305
Tampa, FL 33612
813-974-4642

August 2019 --

Webmaster:



Ms. Paige Romero

For past issues you may have missed, please see the departmental Web page.

News for us or comments?

Please write to: dfmartin@usf.edu